ROW80 Round 4, Episode Eleven

Winter’s arrived in the UK – anyone else feel like hibernating?

Goals: Finish writing the first draft of one incomplete novel (Project RC).

A Round Of Words In 80 DaysNotes: Nobody needs to turn writing into a chore.

My instincts have been telling me to let this project lie dormant for a while. As much as I “get” Steven Pressfield’s theory of Resistance, there comes a point when Resistance is there for a reason.

Another theory is the Pareto Principle, or the 80/20 rule, and right now I’ve put 80% of my writing time into Project RC and got about 20% of a usable story.  I already have a Day Job for when I want to work hard. I don’t need to turn my writing into a chore.

So…

Project RC goes into a deep sleep. I’ll trust my instincts and wait for the project to rise up and clamour for attention, in its own sweet time.

In the meantime, I’ll kick back and have some fun. I’ve just finished a silly steampunk short story, I have another in the pipeline, and I’m setting up the framework for a new pen-name.

Like I said last time, There Is No Pressure.

Updates: Every Wednesday and Sunday until the challenge is over, as per the Rules.

Links: Find other ROW80 participants here.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://leemcaulay.wordpress.com/2012/12/02/row80-round-4-episode-eleven/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I hear you there. When writing becomes a chore, you need to take a step back and reexamine everything because that certainly shouldn’t be the case. Sounds like it was time to let it go, at least for now. That piece will be there when you’re ready to write it. In the meantime, make writing fun again. The rest will follow.

    • I agree wholeheartedly. Sometimes we resist something because we’re procrastinating, but other times it’s a feeling that something’s not right. The lesson is in learning which is which!

  2. I agree, no point to writing if there is isn’t some fun there – when I dont wake up wanting to switch machine on straight away (this is very rarely!) I go do something else. It usually means I am over tired,ill or writing something that is never going to work

    all the best for coming week:)

    • Thanks, Alberta! Sometimes the fun lies in picking your way through a story and making it work, and other times it’s just hammering at the keys to get the words out. Making stuff up shouldn’t be hard work!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 113 other followers

