Poem: Summer Drum

I’ve been trawling through my archives and came across some old poetry from wayyyy back. Thought you might like some (only the ones I’m prepared to admit to, not the Gothic teenage noodlings).

I walk; the hot summer sun beats on my dark hair, a drum

The Gothic teenage noodlings might have been a good series of posts if the internet had been around when I was a semi-Gothic teenager – I wrote at least one poem a day back then.

On second thoughts, they might just have been a lasting embarrassment haunting my every Internet move.

(Click on the image for a larger version.)

Published in: on June 4, 2013 at 12:00 am  Comments (3)  
Tags: , , , ,

3 Comments

  1. I really like that poem, Lee. For some reason, I am reminded of Matthew Arnold’s splendid “Dover Beach.” I believe it’s the imagery, you have invoked. Poetry was perhaps the hardest thing for me to understand in University. D. H. Lawrence finally got through to me and I fell in love with it. I am so literal and Boolean and Aspergery, it was a huge leap of faith for me to be able to just let myself go and wallow in the language. This is a marvelous poem, Lee. I’d love to see your Goth poems (along with a picture!) Thanks!

    • Thanks! (blushes)

  2. […] of a number of postings since the last report: Eat More Chips, Tell me what I should read, Poem: Summer Drum and Extraverts & Introverts & Crazy Artists. In keeping with the guidelines, these will be […]


Comments are closed.

