Love Leads The Pilgrim

Edits proceed apace on the current novel. I’m up to 40K words now: just over halfway.

One of the reasons I was able to write three novels last year was the ability to schedule writing time in my lunch break at work. I’d find an empty table, unpack my headphones and spend some time getting my characters into trouble.

Not so this year.

Some time in early Spring – probably just after I exhausted myself with work-related training – I noticed an increase in the number of my colleagues. The canteen seemed to fill up and spill over into the rest of the building, and an empty table became harder to find when I went looking.

Noise levels rose. I took to the secluded areas where there were no tables or chairs. I went outdoors in the bright summer sun and sat on the grass with a paperback in one hand and a sandwich in the other.

And I quit writing during my lunch break.

One of these days I’ll write about my corporate Day Job, and the changes I’ve seen in the last twenty years of bleak, open-plan office spaces. But not today.

Sometimes you have to build your own cubicle. It helps hide the tunnel you’re digging…

Love leading the Pilgrim (1909) by Sir Edward Burne-Jones, © Birmingham Museums and Art Gallery

Love leading the Pilgrim (1909) by Sir Edward Burne-Jones, © Birmingham Museums and Art Gallery

Published in: on November 5, 2014 at 12:00 am  Comments Off on Love Leads The Pilgrim  
Tags: , , , ,
