The road goes ever on and on…

After a few false starts, the next Petticoat Katie novel is underway. Phew!

At the end of December, Dean Wesley Smith wrote a good post about how to tackle the year ahead – getting knocked off a goal – which includes some great advice on how to start writing again when you’ve stopped, for whatever reason.

He details four handy tricks to get back into the groove:

1. Plan what project you’ll work on;

2. Have a backup project;

3. Set a backup “time for writing”;

4. Set up a “buddy” to report into.

The key for me is knowing there are stories I want to get to, further along my project list, which I can’t start until I’ve written the ones before.

After the satisfaction of writing SHADOWBOX, I have a hankering to write another big historical fantasy. I have a couple of Petticoat Katie novels after the one I’ve just started, which still need noodling time. And there are more to come, none of which I’ve discovered yet, waiting for me to learn the lessons I’ll need to make them great.

The voice which drags me back to the writing desk when there’s other fun to be had is a reader who wants me to succeed, one who I’ll never meet, one who wants to travel a wondrous road with me and find herself back at her own front door, guided safe by my words.

First steps.

“Little by little, one travels far” ― J.R.R. Tolkien

Sunset over mountains (c) Lee McAulay

Published in: on January 21, 2015 at 12:00 am  Comments Off on The road goes ever on and on…  
Tags: ,
